Label:Captured Tracks
Diiv’s debut album Oshin was released by Captured Tracks and bears all the hallmarks of that label’s quintessential sound: jangly guitars, winsome vocals, cavernous reverb, and an overall murky, underwater production aesthetic. However, Cole differentiates Diiv from the rest of the beach-pop pack with a darker, more eclectic feel that incorporates surf and Krautrock on the undulating epic “Air Conditioning,” and the fittingly named, multi-part instrumental “(Druun),” which unites Oshin with a hazy glow. While the change between songs like these and Diiv’s previously released pop confections like “Human” and “How Long Have You Known?” is somewhat jarring at first, it gives the band more options, which they put to good use on “Oshin (Subsumed)”‘s dark surf balladry and “Doused”‘s angular attack, which helps give Diiv’s sound some urgency without losing their dreamy undercurrents.
Oshin is a pleasant listen, especially for anyone partial to Beach Fossils or the Captured Tracks sound in general.
  • A1 (Druun)
  • A2  Past lives
  • A3  Human
  • A4  Air Conditioning
  • A5  How long have you known?
  • A6  Wait
  • A7  Earthboy
  • B1  (Druun Pt. II)
  • B2  Follow
  • B3  Sometime
  • B4  Oshin (Subsume)
  • B5  Doused
  • B6  Home

Disponible: 1

Categories: ,