Label: Sacred Bones

Sacred Bones reissue a pioneering work of both discrete music and early electronic composition. ‘Warm earth music for plants … and the people who love them’. So runs the tagline to Mort Garson’s 1976 LP Plantasia. The Secret Life Of Plants, a 1973 book by Peter Tompkins and Christopher Bird, had sold in its millions in the U.S.A, and as a result more homes than ever were awash with greenery. Seeing as one of the claims made in the book was that plants enjoyed music (we’ll let you know about that one) it was only a matter of time before an album came on the market that catered as much to flora and fauna as to green-fingered bipeds.

On first glance it seems incongruous that Garson composed an album about nature exclusively on synthesisers. However, listening to Plantasia reveals that electronic instruments were actually the perfect match for this brief. Garson was one of the first artists to put Moog synths at the centre of his practice, and by the mid-70’s he had found a way to make these machines sound warm and human. As a result, many of the tracks here have a kind of quirky charm to them that one would only have been able to conjure from the alien tones of a Moog.


  • Plantasia
  • Symphony for a Spider Plant
  • Baby’s Tears Blues
  • Ode to an African Violet
  • Concerto for Philodendron & Pothos
  • Rhapsody in Green
  • Swingin’ Spathiphyllums
  • You Don’t Have to Walk a Begonia
  • A Mellow Mood for Maidenhair
  • Music to Soothe the Savage Snake Plant

Disponible: Agotado

Categories: ,