Vinyl LP

Sello: Brownswood Recordings

The duo, comprised of Yussef Dayes and Kamaal Williams (aka Henry Wu) and backed by a swath of London jazz players, channel the 1970s jazz-funk and fusion of Herbie HancockJaco PastoriousBob James and Chick Corea with uncanny precision. Their unique approach to jazz is informed by jungle, grime, broken beat, pirate radio and other touchstones of UK youth culture, akin to their stateside nu-school counterparts’ own hip-hop-infused worldview (Kamasi WashingtonRobert Glasper come to mind). The project started when Williams recruited Dayes for a one-off live interpretation of his deep house and broken beat productions, and the pair decided to take their collaboration further, eventually culminating in this stunning full-length on Gilles Peterson’s Brownwood Recordings.


  • Black Focus
  • Strings Of Light
  • Remembrance
  • Yo Chavez
  • Ayla
  • O.G.
  • Lowrider
  • Mansur’s Message
  • Wing Tai Drums
  • Joint 17


Disponible: 1 disponibles